Kid Loki’s armour/prop pieces part 2

So onto another instalment of Kid Loki’s weird simplistic armour and props!
Despite them being relatively simple (which a part of me grieves, since I’m anxious to glam up a cosplay) they don’t fit right. His bracers sit at a position in my arm that makes them awkward, meaning that they won’t stay as they should 24/7, needing to constantly being readjusted for photos (I’m trying to come up with a pattern that will fix that, but the problem lyes in where they sit, rather than the shape itself). For now, they’re shiny and majestic enough that they’ll do!
After painting every prop and armour piece (even his chest symbol, which I finished this weekend), I then started to seal them all with matte varnish. Matte isn’t ideal, a half matte/shine varnish would be best, but I can’t find it nor afford it at the moment so matte it is! His symbol is placed above my binded chest, slightly smaller than the reference because I honestly think it would look silly otherwise. I used to layers of 2mm craft foam glued together, and I then experimented with either carving the symbol or cutting it on the first layer only. Cutting it made it look silly and sorta weird for armour, so carving it was.
TPhoto_00494
I carved it before adding the layers of white glue and paint so, at this point, I was trying to match the colour to the one on the fabric. The top part of his costume has a third green piece with a white hood, that part is embellished with gold patterns. Those, sadly, I’ll have to paint with a lot of patience and steady hands.
TPhoto_00495
By now, the black acrylic was drying after 4 layers (just because, just because).
TPhoto_00496
The varnish had yet to dry when this photo was taken, so the result appears a lot shinier than it is (as I said on previous times I’ve used this varnish: “applies shiny, dries matte”.)
TPhoto_00497
Here it is, all dry! (sorry for the crappy cellphone pics, one does get lazy to pick up a decent camera).

The third and final post about his armour/prop pieces will feature a decent photo of all the elements and how they look once put on a real person (aka me, no really, just me).
PS: I carved the symbol on the last layer of craft foam using a special tool, it rotates and has a round metal tip. It’s just a carving tool, works on batteries, nothing special.

6 thoughts on “Kid Loki’s armour/prop pieces part 2

    1. Oh Leah! Sim! Andava super deprimida porque adorava fazer cosplay com uma Leah, acabaste de me fazer ganhar o dia /hugs
      Quando quiseres basta combinar, devo estar quase a acabar o cosplay para o Anicomics, depois é melhorá-lo conforme a minha carteira permitir / fazer as outras versões da armour dele ~

      1. Boa eu nao sei se vou ao anicomics mas se arranjar boleia e se tiveres prona até fica combinado!! eu para já tenho a wig mas não me consigo decidir em que verdes vou usar, depois de terminar o da aurora e da stella vou me dedicar a ele:).

      2. Eu ainda tenho de comprar uma wig nova e as lentes, mas já me disseram que não chegam a tempo por causa do Chinese New Year ;__;
        Para já devo tentar usar a que tenho/pedir emprestada uma.
        Eu tive imensos problemas com o tecido verde! /cries
        Não encontrava nenhum com a cor certa e tive de me satisfazer com o mais próximo, ainda pensei em tingir mas a tinta de que precisava era caríssima (porque tinha de dar para fibras que não fossem naturais) e de momento não posso comprá-la…
        Se encontrar a cor perfeita miraculosamente lá ei de refazer, mas por enquanto estas são próximas o suficiente que não me chateia muito xD
        Boa sorte com o cosplay! ~

  1. pois é o meu problema, eu vi queria um tecido elásico para a zona do peito e para a saia rodad um mais leve para fazer a forma mas de cores iguais. infelizmente tecidos elásicos que cozam na minha máquina são dificeis e já usei a mostras que n~ºao davam:( estou á espera que mudem a coleção na feira dos tecidos para ver se algo me agrada e que se adeque. Até lá vou fazendo outros–‘

    1. Eu também optei por um tecido elástico, e por experiências passadas sei que a minha máquina se queixa mas…vamos ver, talvez se porte bem xD
      Com alguma sorte os verdes ficam em voga e é uma festa na feira dos tecidos ~
      /hugs

      Boa sorte! :’)

Leave a Reply

