“Sock” Type Boot Covers | Cosplay Tutorials | Part 1

39Heyah guys! Since I’m making my second pair of boot covers in this style, I decided to make a small tutorial of it ~
This is a simpler (cheat-y) way that doesn’t require gluing the border of the boot cover to the soles, instead you pattern a sort of “sock” with the fabric you chose and then slip it on the boot. Depending on what you’ll be doing next it might require other tweaks (such as coloured or felt soles, flaps, etc…).
I’ll be recreating Amira’s boots, and in this first instalment I’ll show you the patterning phase.

988836qgiyrsbvlmMaterials:
1-way or 2-way stretch fabric | Patterning Paper | Pen | Sewing Machine | Base Boots | Sewing Pins | Scissors

988836qgiyrsbvlmStep 1:
Lay out a sock that fits on your boot (it can be a lost pair or anything that goes) and flatten it as much as possible. Afterwards, cut along the back (heel part) as to later have an opened pattern of the shape.
(Socks are typically 2-way stretch, my fabric was 1-way stretch fabric so I had to go through a few more steps later on).
Important!!! By this point I reckon you already altered your base boots to the shape or length desired, also, if you have to alter the shape of your heel, do it before you slip on the finished boot cover ~

DSC_3227

988836qgiyrsbvlmStep 2:
Sketch out a pattern based on your sock, making sure to alter anything that you saw needed a change when you previously put the sock on your boots. At this point I use a nifty trick of sketching only one of the pattern sides, and then folding it in two. If you cut neatly this will give you a symmetrical and clean pattern after you unfold it.

click on the images to enlarge them ~

988836qgiyrsbvlmStep 3:
Draw out this pattern on the desired fabric, I advise you to use scrap fabric that stretches the same as the one you’ll be using first, to see if everything fits nicely, however, if you have a margin for error and you’re using 2-way stretch fabric, this pattern should work right away. But! Since I’m using 1-way stretch fabric I anticipated that something would go wrong, thankfully I had plenty of fabric to work with so I used the pleather anyway, had I not, I would’ve used scrap fabric.

988836qgiyrsbvlmStep 4:
Cut out your fabric, and don’t forget to add a seam allowance! Pin it right-sides together, matching the lines you drew on the fabric (that should now be either side) and then sew along that line using same coloured thread as your fabric. Depending on the material you’re using you should approach the sewing differently, so mind that factor ~

DSC_3257988836qgiyrsbvlmStep 5:
Trim the seam allowance and try on the boot cover! In my case the foot part wasn’t long enough and it caused the stitching to rip and pull (one of the reasons why you should use 2-way stretch fabric instead) ;;  I also forgot that the boot got wider at the top, so that caused the base boot to scrunch a bit…
The important thing in this step is to find the spot where your heel wants to rip through, mark it with a pen and then cut out a hole smaller than the heel but with roughly the same shape on that spot. Try it on! If every thing’s OK and it looks great, then go ahead and use it on your final fabric, or if you’re already using it then sew a hem along the hole you just cut. If everything sounds fine, you’re done for now!

988836qgiyrsbvlmStep 6:
Make the changes needed to your pattern if anything went wrong like in my case. At this point I elongated the foot and added an angle to the upper part of the boot. I also added the hole already, since I knew where it would go based on my failed attempt ~

988836qgiyrsbvlm

Aaaaaand that’s the end of part 1! Come back in a few days for part 2

73

Leave a Reply

